AAT Bioquest

What are the three types of mammalian cells in culture?

Posted July 22, 2020


Most mammalian cells in culture can be categorized into three types based on their morphology:

  • Fibroblast-like: These cells are bipolar or multipolar with elongated shapes, which grow attached to a substrate.
  • Epithelial-like: They are polygonal in shape with more regular dimension. These cells grow attached to a substrate in discrete patches.
  • Lymphoblast-like: They are spherical in shape and usually grown in suspension without attaching to a surface.
Additional resources

Cell Cycle and Proliferation

Assay development services

Berg, J. M., Tymoczko, J. L., & Stryer, L. (2008). Biochemistry (Loose-Leaf). Macmillan.

Yao, T., & Asayama, Y. (2017). Animal?cell culture media: History, characteristics, and current issues. Reproductive medicine and biology, 16(2), 99-117.

Butler, M. (2004). Animal cell culture and technology. Taylor & Francis.