AAT Bioquest

What are the components of cytoplasm?

Posted June 17, 2022


The main components of the cytoplasm include:

  • Cytosol – This is the aqueous portion of the cytoplasm and is composed mostly of water. It also contains a variety of small organic molecules, dissolved ions, and proteins. 
  • Organelles – These refer to small membrane-bound structures that lie suspended in the cytoplasm. Cellular organelles found in the cytoplasm include endoplasmic reticulum, mitochondria, Golgi complex, ribosomes, and lysosomes, and vacuoles. The cytoplasm in plant cells also contains chloroplasts.  
  • Cytoplasmic inclusions – Cytoplasmic inclusions refer to a variety of insoluble particles or molecules that remain suspended in the cytosol. These are mainly granules of starch and glycogen. Cytoplasmic inclusions are not surrounded by any membrane. Different cell types have different inclusions. 
Additional resources

Organelle growth control through limiting pools of cytoplasmic components

ReadiPrep™ Nuclear/Cytoplasmic Fractionation Kit