AAT Bioquest

What are the two different types of rRNAs?

Posted February 20, 2023


The two different types of rRNAs contained in ribosomes are small rRNAs and large rRNAs. The 5S and 23S rRNAs are found within the large ribosomal subunit, and the 16S is found within the small rRNA subunit in prokaryotes. The 16S rRNA gene is responsible for the process of converting genetic code to cell components through translation of mRNA to proteins. 16S is easily isolated and its sequence variation at a slow rate, allowing the detection of related shared traits among distinct species. The 5S rRNA is known for stabilizing the ribosome structure. 23S has an important role in peptide bond formation. Eukaryotes have 4 types of rRNA: 5S, 5.8S, 18S, and 28S. The large subunit contains 28S, 5S, and 5.8S and the small subunit contains 18S. The small subunit is responsible for decoding the genetic information and the large subunit is responsible for catalyzing peptide bond formation. 

Additional resources

From DNA to RNA

DNA and RNA Quantitation

Portelite™ Fluorimetric RNA Quantitation Kit*Optimized for Cytocite™ and Qubit™ Fluorometers*

Transfectamine™ mRNA Transfection Reagent