AAT Bioquest

What are the 3 different cell states?

Posted June 15, 2023


The 3 different cell states of the cell cycle are: interphase, mitotic phase, and cytokinesis. Interphase is the time during which the cell prepares for division by undergoing growth and DNA replication; the cell spends approximately 23 hours of the 24 hours it takes to complete the cycle in interphase. Interphase is divided into three phases: the G1 phase (Gap 1), S phase (synthesis), and G2 phase. In the G1 and G2 phase, the cell experiences growth and the copying of organelles in preparation for division. In the S phase, DNA replication occurs in the nucleus. In the mitotic phase (M phase), the cell duplicates all its contents (including its chromosomes), and chromatids separate to allow each cell to get a copy of each chromosome. The mitotic phase is divided into four stages: prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase, in that order respectively. The third stage of the cell cycle is known cytokinesis. During this stage, the cytoplasm of the cell divides to form two cells (daughter cells). The daughter cells are genetically identical to each other, as well as to the original parent cell.

Additional resources

Defining cell types and states with single-cell genomics

Cell Cycle Assays

Cell Meter™ Fluorimetric Live Cell Cycle Assay Kit *Green Fluorescence Optimized for Flow Cytometry*