AAT Bioquest

What type of cell division is required for the growth and repair of the body?

Posted March 15, 2023


Mitosis is the type of cell division that is required for the growth and repair of the body. There are six steps involved in mitosis: interphase, prophase, prometaphase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase. During interphase, the DNA in the cell is copied to prepare for cell division, resulting in 2 identical sets of chromosomes. Microtubules extend from the centrosomes outside the nucleus. In prophase, the chromosomes condense into X-shaped structures. The chromosomes pair up so that both copies of chromosomes 1, 2, 3, etc are together. During prometaphase, the physical barrier that encloses the nuclear envelope breaks down. The mitotic spindle extends across the cell between the centrioles as they move to opposite poles. The next step is metaphase, in which chromosomes line up adjacently near the center of the cell; the mitotic spindle fibers attach to each of the sister chromatids.Next, during anaphase, the sister chromatids are separated by the mitotic spindle which pulls one chromatid to one pole and the other to the opposite pole. In the last step (known as telophase), a full set of chromosomes at each pole gather together. A membrane becomes formed around each set, producing two new nuclei. In cytokinesis, the cell then cleaves in the middle to create 2 daughter cells with full sets of chromosomes.

Additional resources


Cell Cycle Assays

Cell Navigator® CDy6 Mitosis Imaging Kit

Cell Meter™ Fluorimetric Live Cell Cycle Assay Kit *Green Fluorescence Optimized for Flow Cytometry*