AAT Bioquest

What are cell cycle and cell cycle phases?

Posted June 1, 2020


Cell cycle is a series of events that take place in a cell that lead to its division into two daughter cells. Eukaryotes consist two main stages in cell cycle: interphase and mitotic (M) phase. These two stages can be further divided into four distinct phases: Gap 1 phase, Synthesis phase, Gap 2 phase (collectively known as interphase) and mitotic phase (including mitosis and cytokinesis).


  • Gap 1 phase (G1 phase): The first growth phase or post mitotic gap phase, where cells increase in size.
  • Synthesis phase (S phase): DNA replication occurs during this phase.
  • Gap 2 phase (G2 phase): A period of protein synthesis and rapid cell growth to prepare the cell for mitosis.
  • Mitotic phase (M phase): Cell growth stops at this stage and cellular energy is focused on the orderly division into two daughter cells. Chromosome separation is completed in mitotic phase while in cytokinesis phase, all cell components including nuclei, cytoplasm, organelles and cell membrane are separated into two cells.
Additional resources

ReadiUse™ CFSE [5-(and 6)-Carboxyfluorescein diacetate, succinimidyl ester] *CAS 150347-59-4*

Bucculite™ FdU Cu-Free Cell Proliferation Fluorescence Imaging Kit *Deep Red Fluorescence*

Morgan, D. O. (2007). The cell cycle: principles of control. New Science Press.