AAT Bioquest

What are the three stages of translation?

Posted June 22, 2020


Translation of an mRNA molecule occurs in three stages: initiation, elongation, and termination.

  • Initiation: The ribosome assembles around the target mRNA and the start codon 5’ AUG is recognized.
  • Elongation: The tRNA transfers an amino acid to the tRNA bound to the next codon, forming a peptide bond between the two amino acids. The ribosome then translocates to the next codon to continue the process, creating an amino acid chain in the direction from the N terminal to the C terminal.
  • Termination: When a stop codon is recognized, the elongation of amino acid chain terminates. The ribosome then folds the polypeptide into its final structure.
Additional resources

Helixyte™ Green *10,000X Aqueous PCR Solution*

6-ROX glycine *25 uM fluorescence reference solution for PCR reactions*

Perdew, G. H., Heuvel, J. P. V., & Peters, J. M. (2008). Regulation of gene expression. Springer Science & Business Media.

Lodish, H., Berk, A., Kaiser, C. A., Krieger, M., Scott, M. P., Bretscher, A., ... & Matsudaira, P. (2008). Molecular cell biology. Macmillan.